Catch a Falling Star in Joshua Tree

The Perseid meteor shower happened recently so my friends and I planned a quick turn around to Joshua Tree, CA to go see it.

It’s been a couple years since the last time I visited Joshua Tree.  As such, I can’t say I really saw much in the dark aside from a couple cute kangaroo rats and a tarantula.  We got to the park around 10 pm and took a hike up Ryan Mountain for a nice vantage point.  With just a few lamps to guide our way, we headed up a path that was a mix of a gradual incline and a whole lot of steps cut right into the rock.

As they say,

“Second star to the right and straight on ’til morning!” – Peter Pan, J.M. Barrie

After climbing what seemed like a  countless number of steps, we got to a nice spot and settled down to watch the sky.  We waited for falling stars, snacked on some chips and hummus, and hilariously struggled trying to take photos in the dark.  Trying to take a 30 second exposure on a timer definitely takes some coordination when running from point A to point B with some sabotaging bushes in the way.  The Milky Way was incredibly bright and we saw quite a bit of meteors across the sky.  I sat back for a while to just enjoy the cool evening with the countless of stars.  That’s probably the most stars I have ever seen in my life!  It was around 4 am when we finally made it back down the mountain.  By then, my knees were a more than a little wobbly and my stomach was ready for breakfast.

Now that I’m back in the city, I look up into the sky and I’m already missing that sky full of stars ❤

2 thoughts on “Catch a Falling Star in Joshua Tree

  1. Wooow I haven’t gone star gazing in a long time I think the last time I saw so many stars was in Batangas almost ten years ago. :’D I need to plan a stargazing hike soon too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

