My Little Green Friends

piggie

I fell in love with succulents a while back ago.  However, I didn’t have the heart to go out and actually buy some for myself.  But luck would have it that my friends were giving them away as party favors for their wedding shower.  And sure enough, it planted a new interest.

Another friend, who was at the same shower, claimed she would not be able to keep the little ones alive and so she gave them to me to “adopt” 😀  Eventually a couple of them started growing too big for their containers and I brought them home to transplant in a new pot.  I asked my mom if she had any available and she happily gave me some with the addition of a few cuttings from the garden, a snowball cactus, and some air plants.

groot_friends

Adopted friends and baby Groot!  My bamboo cutting board split in half after warping. I use it as a stand for these guys now.

pups_friends

I wanted to make a label for each succulent. So far, only Ripley has one.

Succulents, cacti, and air plants are relatively easy to care for.  I referred to SaveYourSucculents to see how to take care of my new little green friends and for some plant IDs.  I usually water mine once a week then I keep an eye on them to see if they’re doing okay the rest of the time.  So far, I’ve managed to keep them alive with only two casualties (a sempervivum that suddenly shriveled up after I repotted it and an air plant that rotted after I didn’t leave it upside down long enough to dry -RIP you two -__-).  I have one plant that kept dropping leaves on one side and I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it o__o.  It grew taller and so I moved it to a brighter spot thinking that it might be etiolating (when a plant stretches out for more light).  I’m still not quite sure what’s up with it but it seems happier by the window now.

airplants

Giving the air plants their weekly soak.

snowball

The one in the top middle that looks like fingers is called a crassula ovata ‘Gollum’. I call it ‘Precious’ XD

haworthia_pot    haworthia

A couple of them have even started sprouting babies! 😀

haworthia_pups  sprout_pups

Aside from the succulents and the air plants, I also have a pair of Marimo moss balls.  Interestingly enough, they are actually a form of algae instead of moss!  My friend Raisa introduced me to the cute little ones a couple of months ago and I couldn’t stop thinking about them.  With the growing desire for a low maintenance pet, I caved and bought a pair at the beginning of summer from Wendiland.  Her Youtube channel was very informative on Marimo care.

windowsill

Hanging out by my window sill.

marimo_roland

Roland is the bubblier of the two.

More recently, I went to visit Home Depot to see if they had any moss available for yet another growing interest.  I eventually wandered into the succulent section and picked up a few more new friends since they were on sale!  A Daiso also opened up near us and I couldn’t resist the cute planters there either.  This could spell trouble for me XD

A tray and cute planters from Daiso!

A tray and cute planters from Daiso!

elephantbush   echeveria_calicokitten


P.S. I forgot I had half an onion left in my fridge and it started growing.  Instead of throwing it out, I’m letting it grow until I have a long enough green onion to cook with.  Plants are so fascinating!!!
onion

9 thoughts on “My Little Green Friends

    • Water Wednesdays! The alliteration helps me remember to water them XD

      And have you heard of Viridi?? It’s a free game on Steam that might have the perfect succulents for you 😀

      Like

  1. Mailan says:

    I didn’t think succulents and cacti would look this pretty. You actually made it cool. 😂

    I grow potted herbs but they’re not pretty enough for the Internet. Must repot soon.

    Like

    • That is so sweet of you to say 😀 I want to start growing some potted herbs too. I don’t have much space for them at the moment but I would love to have some rosemary on hand all the time!

      Like

      • Mailan says:

        I haven’t grown a rosemary too but I’d love to because ‘rosemary chicken’. Haha. I have here basil, mint, tarragon, and stevia. I’m not sure if rosemary is easy to grow but I highly recommend basil. It’s a hardy herb and grows fast. Really fragrant too. Unfortunately, I can’t grown cacti like you because mom has superstitious beliefs about grown cacti.

        Like

  2. Mailan says:

    I haven’t grown a rosemary too but I’d love to because ‘rosemary chicken’. Haha. I have here basil, mint, tarragon, and stevia. I’m not sure if rosemary is easy to grow but I highly recommend basil. It’s a hardy herb and grows fast. Really fragrant too. Unfortunately, I can’t growing cacti like you because mom has superstitious beliefs about growing cacti.

    Like

Leave a Reply

